Random Notes

I tried out a POGIL activity with my chemistry class today.  This class has taught using traidtional chemistry curriculum.  I am introducing hte idea of POGIL to them and will pilot a unit on acids and bases next week.  I thought I would introduce the equlibirum unit using a actvity I found from the POGIL website (see the links).  Just from the students comments and questioning, it went really well.  They enjoyed the material and learned dynamic equilibriums and Le Chatelier’s Principle.  It took almost an hour to complete.  I will give a short quiz tomorrow.  Now that I have tried it, I am more excited than I was.

I finished the course guide for next semester earlier than I had planned.  I have modified (or retyped in some cases) POGIL activities, labs, and material from other teachers.  I have given credit to the original authors at the end of each activity.  I posted it on my student website.  Find the PDF file here!  So, again, I am not claiming any of this to be original, but if you are interested in which labs I will be using, here they are.  I do plan on creating some original POGIL exercises as I get my feet wet.  I will post these as they come along.  

Finally, did you know that the ACS put together a book for applying the national standards to the chemistry classroom.  Oh, and it is FREE online!  I personally, found the chapter on the life science standards remarkable.  I don’t know how NCLB has played out in your state, but in Ohio, we have a 10th grade graduation test.  Because I teach mostly juniors, coorelating to the standards hasn’t been on the forefront of my mind.  But this has opened my eyes to the standards from a chemistry teachers perspective.  

From the website:

Chemistry in the National Science Education Standards, Second Edition, provides models for meaningful learning in the high school chemistry classroom. This valuable resource addresses the science education standards specified by the National Research Council and other issues of interest relevant to the current educational landscape.

High school chemistry teachers and administrators, university chemistry and science education faculty, and professional development providers will recognize this resource as a useful and timely text.

What’s new?

  • Updates on addressing the National Science Education Standards
  • New chapters on technology, English Language Learners, student misconceptions, learning research, AP Chemistry redesign and more…
  • Practical, classroom-tested examples of best practices in secondary chemistry education
  • Recommended Web sites and additional readings

Find it here:

Chemistry in the National Science Education Standards.

More chemistry education news and thoughts as I get them… Any and all comments are welcome!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

